My father.

James Marks
1 min readApr 21, 2017

I’ve spent most of my life thinking my father and I didn’t have that much in common, and only recently realized how wrong I was.

What I’ll remember my father for is his patience over the course of years. His kindness and generosity. His steadiness and loyalty.

Those qualities created the fabric of my youth. Houses, towns, and characters came in and out of frame, but my father was constant.

And the qualities I strive for myself- kindness, equality, patience, loyalty; I inherited those largely from him.

I’ve spent most of my life thinking my father and I didn’t have anything in common, but now I know that we had everything in common.

Everything that matters, anyway.

If he were here today, I would tell him thank you. For raising me. For teaching me morals. For making me strive to do great things. And just for being there.

--

--

James Marks

Serial entrepreneur. #457 on the Inc. 5,000. Process, compassion, and empathy rule all.